Morgan County Library

Board of Trustees

Nov. 10, 2022

Present: Lena Menning, Stacey Embry, Mary Jo Jackson, Curtis Cunningham, Ann Brinson, Kathy Jones.

Absent: none.

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order by Mary Jo Jackson at 5:15 p.m. It was held at 600 N. Hunter, Versailles, MO 65084.

Public Comment: none.

Minutes: Kathy moved, Lena seconded, to accept the October 13, 2022 minutes as presented. Motion carried.

Vouchers/Financial Report: Current balance as of October 31, 2022, is $219,283.86. Ann moved, Curtis seconded, to accept the report as presented. Motion carried.

Directors’ Report:

  • Circulation remains consistent, with the notable exception that EBSCO has seen increased usage.
  • The library did not receive the tech grant for which it had recently applied.
  • The Stover book machine will likely be replaced with small library boxes, comparable to “Little Free Library,” located at various points in the county. Book lockers are also in development for after-hours pick-up.
  • Descriptions of each staff position were electronically circulated to the board members.

Old Business: none.

New Business: Curtis moved, Kathy seconded, to adopt the Missouri Public Library Directors’ suggested “Resolution Opposing 15 CSR 30-200.015 Library Certification Requirement for the Protection of Minors.” Discussion included the proposed rule’s current wording, which is both vague and unenforceable, along with the recognized need to continue providing protection to minors. Motion carried.

Mary Jo reported on behalf of the Friends of the Morgan County Library that progress continues on the Imagination Library project, and that the concrete project will be completed in early spring, by April 15

Lena moved, Curtis seconded, to accept the 2023 Library Calendar as revised. Motion carried.

Pursuant of Section 610.021.3, Kathy moved, Ann seconded, to move to closed session. Motion carried by the following roll call vote: Lena, Yes; Curtis, Yes; Ann, Yes; Mary Jo, Yes; Kathy, Yes. Motion carried.

Adjournment: Curtis moved, Lena Seconded, to adjourn at 7:01 PM. Motion carried.

________________________________________                  ________________________________________

Mary Jo Jackson, President                                 Ann Brinson, Secretary

These minutes approved as _____________________ on ________________________